Guide dog for the blind (failed)

This lovely labrador was enjoying the attention this morning in town. Unfortunately she had failed her final test so wasn't able to become a guide dog for the blind but she was still able to help fund raise by turning out and beguiling shoppers for their money. Good for her.

It was a packed day today; a quick visit to town before zipping off to Deal to watch a referee. I was caught in Operation Stack at the Channel Tunnel which I knew nothing about 'til I arrived at the diversion. Turned out almost 200 migrants had stormed the freight terminus in France last night and many had made their way some miles into the tunnel before being arrested. Most of these people are economic migrants seeking work in the UK. It is the true refugees and asylum seekers that most people in the UK have enormous sympathy for and are willing to help. To me, it seems the economic migrants are not doing their cause any good by repeatedly bringing chaos to South East England.

Despite the delays and the 7 or 8 miles of trucks parked on the inside lane of the dual carriageway I arrived in Deal a minute before the KO and was able to meet the referee before the game started. Unfortunately, it wasn't his day as 10 minutes into the second half he pulled up with a calf muscle strain and was unable to continue. A volunteer from the sidelines was found to be able to complete the game. Quite ironic really, I was only watching today as I had to call off from my own game owing to a ....... calf injury, same leg too.

The evening turned out to be a real disappointment too, with the England rugby team losing quite emphatically to Australia. Not that I thought England would win. Rather unpatriotically of me I kind of knew they were not up to it based on their previous two games and the whole demeanor of the team. They have not looked good enough on the world stage and they have not given the impression of being a team which is better than the sum of the individuals.

Who to support now?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.