Dinner

I stayed over in Northallerton, this evening. My plan had been to get out for a run, find somewhere to take my book for dinner, and then have a reasonably early night. However, at the end of the afternoon, the chairman of the company I was visiting invited me out for dinner.

It seemed that there might still be time for a run before I had to go out but a quick drive along my intended route proved it to be heavy on fast moving traffic whilst light on pavements and footpaths, so in the end I pottered about at the B&B until the taxi arrived to take me to dinner.

In the end it was a far more pleasant evening than I'd anticipated, right down to having an interesting taxi driver, who came to collect me at the end of the evening, too. The meal itself was very good, even if the decor was somewhat clinical, and the chairman's company turned out to be excellent. Roughly my father's age, I'm guessing, he'd had a really interesting life and, as it turned out, we were both scientists, albeit to starkly varying degrees, and as a result there was a pleasantly nerdy aspect to parts of our conversation, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.