Viator Fabula

By Heliflyer

A reminder of younger days

When I was a child, I used to make Airfix models. It were the days before t'interweb and FarceBook and InstaPratt and similar time-wasting creations that our new world has come up with. Grump grump grump.

I digress. I loved making models. And the epitome of perfection were the big 1/24 scale models - the Spitfire 1A and the Hurricane, and the Me109 and the Stuka. I only ever made the Spitfire, and here I have one of those gorgeous Hurricanes waiting to be built - but do I have the skills?

I've recently got back into model-making. I find it very relaxing, and calming.  To do things right, you have to slow down, pay attention to detail, and just zone in on one thing. That's very good for my mind. It makes me feel at peace. Perhaps it's the echoes of the fun that I had as a young boy working their way through time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.