Nyamekela

Nyamekela - a Xhosa word meaning to hold something precious, in such a way that it will last for a long time.   Isn't that beautiful?   It's part of the name of a self-care project I've been involved with and my evening walks are a treat I give myself and my precious dogs at the end of the day.
I took my camera as I wanted to photograph the owl I've seen in a tall pine tree, for the past 4 evenings.  You guessed it ... I couldn't spot it so took this rather fuzzy snap of these tall, reed like plants which grow in a swampy area of the meadow.  I've forgotten what they're called.
The owl blends so well into the bark of the tree that sometimes I'll be staring straight at it but not see it, until I blink or it moves.
Take care of your precious selves. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.