Victorian selfie

I don't usually do selfies but this is to reassure people that I am alive and well. In fact today I am feeling almost my normal self. I had been determined to be well today as I had planned a trip to Edinburgh, taking in not one but two photographic exhibitions and lunch with Luke.
The first exhibition was Victorian photography at the Museum of Scotland and it was excellent. Ironically, photography was not allowed, except at a point where there was a mock up of a studio with props for dressing up. I couldn't resist that, but the only available photographer was me...
The highlight of the exhibition for me was the amazing array of daguerrotypes, which are beautiful objects and were obviously treasured,  being rather expensive to buy and requiring protection behind glass and in a special case. Some were coloured, making the sitters look almost modern - and they were pin sharp.
The second exhibition was David Bailey's "Stardust" at the National Gallery on the Mound. Not only the well-known black and white portraits of celebrities, but also paintings, family portraits and photographs taken abroad, including some of children during the Ethiopian famine in 1985 which were not easy to look at.
It was lovely to meet up with Luke and we ate in the Portrait Gallery cafe. 
Edinburgh was very wet and grey, so I was surprised when the train sped back south into sunshine and blue skies.
Apparently there is a chance that we might see the Northern Lights tonight..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.