From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Camera, CAMRA, canal!

I devote this Blip to the Dog and Doublet (which the landlady said used to be called the Dog and Jacket). It's one of my favourite pubs partly because it does gorgeous Abbot Ale but also because of its location. It's next to the Birmingham-Fazeley canal and with Kingsbury Water Park near by, it's a great place to go for a day out, or even just a couple of hours in the evening. The food is good too. Well, I like it. No fancy gooey sauces so don't go there if you want Michelin stars. (Some of the bellies seen there are more like Michelin Tyres).

Anyway, I felt the urge to celebrate it was Friday and thought it might be nice to visit before my flight to Glasgow the next day. The people in the pub all saw the flashes from my camera as I had it on the wrong setting initially. I felt a bit silly walking inside. I soon got over it three pints later!

The pub was built in 1786 which was actually before the canal came which is quite surprising.

P.S. CAMRA is the Campaign for Real Ale in case anyone was wondering.

Here is a song I learned at school for all the great canal builders (mostly Irish) there were.

The Navvies Are Coming

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.