From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

This Fright Tonight!

I love train journeys, especially the part when I get a cheese burger (no dratted gherkins!) from Burger King at Glasgow Central between trains. I only found out that you could order burgers without those horrible green things when I was in McDonalds a couple of months ago with my friend one lunchtime. Imagine that?! I've been grimacing eating the things for years if I couldn't be bothered to pull them out first. The way I have seen gherkins is as some sort of self imposed penance; a way of atoning for all my sins. Eat your gherkins and you might get to heaven! Then there was that magical lunchtime and my friend ordered me a burger with no gherkins like it was the most normal thing in the world. Whoopee! The sun shone, the birds sang and choirs of angels ahhhhhed!

I now needed another form of self flagellation.... What I fantastic idea! Phone Flybe and ask them to lay on a marker pen with wings and whirly bits to take you up to Glasgow International on a wild, windy day! Perfect! HUMPH! Seriously, it was a little jet when I flew back to Brum from Glasgow a fortnight before. I was most surprised when I emerged from the tunnel to see that little thing. I thought I might as well take a picture and act like a nerdy plane spotter while I stalled for time. I took a picture with my iPhone too and sent it to a so-called Welsh pal. He said that those little planes smell bad when you take off. I'm not surprised, if most of the passengers are sh***ing themselves.

Actually, the flight wasn't too bad if I'm honest until it was time to descend through some very lumpy clouds in Glasgow! Oh my ears!

Now for a fantastic flight themed track from a fantastic band. I'd forgotten how great this was. Nazareth - This Fright Tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.