"A Grand Day Out"

The title is paraphrasing the Wallace & Grommit film for what happened today.
Last night I had a call from Julia asking if I'd like to attend a special event at RAF Coningsby. At first I thought not because of the distance, 165 miles and approx 3.5 hours driving, but then thought it would be a good experience and I might see the BBMF (Battle of Britain Memorial Flight) which is based at Coningsby.

The event has been running for a few days, and will be for a few more, and it is to showcase all areas of the Royal Air Force to dignitaries, Politicians including defence ministers etc. foreign air forces, and very high ranks in all of the UK military services. It will show them how all of the areas function and what they need to function.

It was amazing to see how they all work and knit together as a team. PLUS, I joined a group of local business people who were on a tour of the camp and we went right into the BBMF including a tour of the hangar. See extra photo.

It was lovely to see Julia, her workmates and the RAF Regiment that she works with. Even in Camouflage she looks lovely and she was with me a lot of the day, but had to give presentations on the recent operations she's been on.
Everyone I met spoke very highly of Julia, she is obviously very well thought of.
Thank you Julia for a fantastic day. XX 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.