Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Paid my fine so I did.

A wee drop past Union street of a morning for a work errand and I decided to pay my dues while I was there....at the court....for the infamous speeding ticket.

Being an upstanding citizen (hahaha, thanks for that Louise's Dad!), I'd never been in the Aberdeen court although I have been inside a police cell, but that is another story, for another day.

And so it was I had to squeeze through the diehard broad Aberdonian accented posse that can always be found decorating the court doorway, smoking up a storm, in better spirits than you'd think from downing a few bevvies by the look and feel of it, just in case they get sent down. Exchanging war stories and pre-battlefield camaraderie and bravado about which judge they are up against. I remember it from my teen years, the conversations haven't changed much. The bravado is based on a house of cards.

Once you get through the fog of the phoney war, you reach the security guys and the bag search and the security scan. I must of looked like an unhinged handbagged old spinster the way they took pity on me, and directed me to where I could pay my fine. The nice lassie on the desk told me there's no endorsement on your card these days, all electronic and I can go online to look at all my penalty points. "Jings!", I replied, totally working the old lady spinster vibe, "this is my first time being naughty...or being caught being naughty, I've not got any other point thingies I hope!". Back out via the security hulks who I have to say were very lovely, even though they said that as I'd been naughty they might not let me go and keep me in the court house instead. I was an easy windup. After a wee giggle of relief I stepped outside again and from the midst of the unnerving rabble outside came the most amazing singing voice, "there may be trouble ahead..." He could start a choir in prison I thought. Or maybe it was the judge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.