Lucky ?

The storm seemed to catch up with us last night. It was thundering and the rain was lashing down as we had a nightcap in the bar after playing bridge during the evening.

The TV channels were back and I watched the news early this morning before we disembarked. Footage of the streets of Naples, flooding. Footage of Dubrovnik, and the arch we walked through, in such deep water. One of the locals said it was like Venice without the gondolas.  Earlier in the week, Albania had been badly hit - and so had  Split.  We've been ahead of the storm.

At breakfast I commented that we had been so lucky. One of the more critical souls in our group looked shocked.  "I think we've been very unlucky with the weather".  Half full or half empty ?

It was dry and calm when I took the photo in Civitavecchia, the port of Rome, before we left.

I'm home now, having managed to get up to the Midlands from Heathrow in two and a half hours (on a Friday rush hour).  Lucky ?  On balance, I know we have been very lucky this week - and very privileged.

But my team are on tv and are 2 nil down to Bristol City already.  Lucky ?  Maybe it just ran out......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.