Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

A little stillness

So begins the countdown, 5 days of hard work, 5 days of every minute accounted for, some days not even time put in for me to eat!

But that is not ALL of my day, I give myself plenty of time to find some peace. A space to rest, take in the wonderful world. Ignore for a second or two the heavy price of a few days away from work.

In a very quiet meadow, with cows noisily munching what sounded like biscuit grass, I sat watching the water bugs having fun. Flying things bump into each other, pause just enough to give their 'Good mornings', and then whizz off again. WaterBoatmen skate about in crazy circles(perhaps looking for lost keys or wallets?) making the most lovely patterns on the glassy water. Jet like birds zoom in over the river picking off any early rising flies that are fool hardy enough not to be with their friends, sometimes leaving wingtip skims in the water.

I sit, I stare, I am at rest. The world spins around me as if 'I' am the fixed centre of the universe, solid and immovable. A little time for me, silence in my mind before the noise and static of others disturbs it.

Day one!

Let's see how it goes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.