Stuck

Yes.  She was.  She had pushed her head through the fence and couldn't get back. She was creating a big fuss and I could hear her from the car park when I arrived.

I'm not good with sheep.  I haven't a clue what I'm doing.  She wasn't in pain. The fencing was smooth and doing no harm other than holding her.  I told her I would fetch help. (I imagined getting her and me into an even greater pickle and I had no way of cutting through the fencing anyway)

There was nobody about.  This is unheard of at Elford.  Nobody building the bonfire for the big day. Nobody working on the boathouse.  Nobody working on the allotments.  Nobody walking the dog.

I went back to her. She was still cross - but unhurt. A man with two dogs arrived - and all was well.

I had an added bonus.  I saw the Elford kingfisher.  Just a flash of blue on a flypast, near to a posing heron.  It's been rather a lovely Monday so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.