In My World

By JoanneInOz

School's Out!

My baby boy, the-last-of-my-children-still-at-school, has just begun his two week winter school holiday.

He has a number of activities planned, as most 14 year old boys have at this time of year.

At the top of his list of activities will be sleeping in late each day, but that will have to begin tomorrow, as we were up bright and early today to go to his 9 am orthodontists appointment.

After his appointment today, we headed up to his mates house, where he will be staying until tomorrow afternoon, after football practice.

There's another activity on top of his list, playing football (rugby league). On Saturday afternoon he played in his club match, and on Sunday afternoon he was at another match, as a spectator.

Tonight, he won't be going to bed early, as he and his mate will be up until the wee small hours, playing X-Box, Play Station, and on Skype.

When he arrives home tomorrow, it won't be long before my kitchen will look like a hurricane has hit it. Have I mentioned that 14 year old boys have hollow legs?

What he won't be doing during the school holidays is cleaning his teeth without being told, removing the collection of dirty cups and plates as they congregate in his room, putting his dirty washing into the wash basket, (or cutting off his rats tail, or removing his silver earring either!)

I will do my motherly duty, and chastise him for the mess, telling him that I am not his personal maid, after which he will look at me with those enormous blue eyes, (the same eyes that have melted the heart of many a 14 year old girl,) he will give me a hug, say "I love you mum", and I'll be picking up after him again.

What can I say? He is my baby! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.