A different view

Friend had a meeting in Saltash about returning to work, being the kind friend that I am I offered to take her - the fact I wanted to photograph the Tamar Bridge had absolutely nothing to do with it! ? ! For 16 years I had crossed the bridge to work, often slowly as even with the extra lanes added it was subject to heavy traffic, not helped by constant work on the bridge and their annoying habit of having more lanes open  coming Into Cornwall than into Devon! This was also not helped by the fact I was  incapable of getting up and out early enough to miss the heavy traffic, I don't seem to have the same problem now I no longer work - strange that! I used to have a chat with the man in the toll booth until they turned it into a Tag system, maybe partly because the toll booth people had a habit of pocketing the money drivers paid for a book of 20 tickets?!! Suddenly there was no need to stop and pay unless I had failed to top up my tag! Despite days of warning I needed to, I invariably failed to do so and would be scrabbling for money as I drove across the bridge and remembered I had failed to add more money via the internet as I had intended to, and  in case that day was the day it actually ran out! As the years went by I was increasingly concerned of the  chance of having an accident on the road after the toll. There seemed to be accidents weekly as cars merged into 2 lanes after going through many toll booth  lanes! 
Whilst I loved the views from the bridge, Saltash itself never really appealed, having only driven through the main road when giving a friend a lift home or being redirected through Saltash due to work on the tunnel, yes there is a bridge for cars, a bridge for trains and a tunnel!! Well my little afternoon visit was an absolute delight! There were fascinating shops, historical buildings and the area under the bridges was just beautifully laid out and full of interest. These boats just made me go quite giddy with pleasure! I was also struck by the very wonderful sculpture  to commemorate the passing of the old Saltash ferry in 1961 when the bridge opened. It had been in operation for 900 years.The golden plaques had poetry, locals stories and historical details about the community the ferry once supported. I also finally got to look at the pub painted in the Union Jack!  It was a good job I only had an hour, and the walk down and then back up took a good piece of time as well! I think I deserved the espresso and caramel salted slice when friend finally reappeared after I'd waited nearly an hour in the park for her! Her meeting was good by the way but lots still to think about and work out, and only once she starts back will she really find out if she is up to it, it's mainly motivated by money, she is coming to the end of the 6 months on half pay and without this to add to the sickness allowance she will be struggling. Given her situation it is  unbearably cruel - she should be enjoying whatever time she has left, not being worried sick about how she will pay her bills. More pieces yet to be added to the jigsaw puzzle before she has to or can  do anything - still waiting for her latest scan results which have been delayed - seems this is a country wide situation - again, cruel. 
Anyhow - we set off for the Tamar Garden Centre where I got my incinerator at half price! The christmas decs are already on display ( Grrr!) but it did mean I could get some replacement lights for my garden - ( Yay!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.