Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

SHAGGY INKCAP

I'm fungally illiterate.  I wonder if anyone recognises a specimen  found lurking in the grow bag where I'd grown my tomatoes.  It was about 10 cm long with no particular odour, but a cheeky expression. 

I loved working outdoors in the wind today . Don't think I'd like to be out on the Minch, though.  This morning I got a clean bill of health and a flu jab from our lovely practice nurse. Winter - bring it on.   

Off now to  start working with a new class group. Always a little healthy trepidation mingled with a soupçon of excitement.

UPDATE:  Thanks to Freespiral it's been identified as a Shaggy Inkcap Coprinus Comatus or (my favourite) Lawyer's Wig.  Apparently 'coprinus' indicates growing on dung, but that's not true - it seems it can grown almost anywhere.  It's certainly shaggy and also edible - sorry I put it in the compost heap now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.