TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Chalk stream

Another day of gloomy cloud and intense stillness. As if the natural world were holding its breath. Afraid to in- or exhale for fear of letting winter advance. Ready-to-drop leaves that must fall held tight against the gale that must come.

It reminded me of a childrens' book about the Maine coast calledTime of Wonder' where a family awaits the arrival of a hurricane - 'she's gonna blow .' But there is no hurricane approaching here.

As I walked out I ran into four men in a hole - aka 'the Road Committee' - clearing out sludge and debris from a sump at the bottom of the hill. I hung around understanding 'the problem' and proffering 'advice'. Eventually I walked back up to the house and took tea down for them all. It was the least I could do.

I re-started my walk and headed out to the South Foreland Light along what once would have been a chalk and flint track. The autumnal colours were muted, even the sloes had lost their puckering aciditiy. Three mistle thrushes flew high overhead calling. Insects hung in the air but the swallows where nowhere to be seen. Rose bay willow herb burnt red under the sombre sky living up to its Yankee name of 'Fireweed'.

As I ambled along the cliff top a peregrine dropped silently from its chalky perch into the void below. Far away over the bestilled neck of the North Sea gas flared from the coast near Dunkerque.  Smoke rose from a bonfire down the slope from our house, visible across the valley. Stillness and silence enveloped me. I hardly dared  breathe.

If you've got kids to buy books for for Christmas 'Time of Wonder' is a classic illustrated book, published in the year I was born, and set in Penobscot Bay where my grandparents lived.p

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.