LadyYakAlot

By LadyYakAlot

Good things come in small packages!

Britain’s smallest pub, The Nutshell is located in Bury St Edmunds and has a bar that measures just 15ft by 7ft, (as confirmed in the Guinness Book of Records!). The Nutshell has been proud to serve customers jostling for a place at the bar since it first started serving beer in 1867, and is now a major tourist attraction for local and interesting historical items, photos and memorabilia. I would have loved to have slipped in for a swift drink but alas shopping was calling in my precious lunchtime.
I have lived less than 30 miles from Bury all my life but have hardly visited it and never for shopping, believing it to be a backward water country town … how wrong was I?????!! Since working in the town for the past year I have really enjoyed the shops with the many mainstream ones, but more importantly quaint unique shops. I now never shop in my home town choosing to visit Bury instead in my lunch hour.
Everything now is gearing up for Christmas and the shops are taking on that magical sparkly time (just hope I can get mine done before the business of Christmas shoppers!!), although today was just normal shopping. My tipple had to wait until the evening when back home enjoying the soaps in the evening with a glass of cider and Yankee candles burning brightly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.