Back To School

I thought I'd take my satchel handbag out for the day as I was going to the university!

Glad I did...

The eye clinic appointment took so long in the end that I was in danger of running out of parking meter time. And, as it was such a palaver trying to get the flipping phone/app thingy to work in the first place I didn't want a parking ticket too!

My appointment was half 11 and they said prepare for it to be one & a half to 2 hours (it's supervised students doing the work). I paid for the maximum allowed of 4 hours allowing me time for a relaxing lunch afterwards and a slow walk back to the car, maybe take a few photos...

I went in for the test at 11:45 and didn't get out of the building till 2:45! 

Nobody can say they're not thorough but, it didn't seem fair, that, having started at 8:30 neither of my testers had had a break. I had water with me thank goodness as there's a lot of reading out loud (one of my biggest pet hates so I was rather dry anyway), but they had nothing. I asked them when they get their lunch knowing the following appointment to mine would've been booked as 2pm and was told they wouldn't get one - the boy said he presumed it was an incentive to work faster so they finished in the allotted 2 hour slot! 

Anyway, lots of different tests done even before I got to meet the intuitive colorimeter machine and all its magic. It's designed purposely that you're not consciously swayed by your favourite colours. I'd spied some awesome shades of purple in the lens case but you can't tell at all which one of the, I'm guessing 30, colours you're being tested with.

As it turned out they combined 2 shades of pink to get my optimum result and so my finished specs won't be a million miles different to the cheap internet lenses I got to try. 

Only downside is I won't be allowed to drive in them so will keep the boring yellow polarised ones in the car.

The supervisor thought she was hilarious making a rose-tinted glasses comment. I didn't ruin her moment telling her I'd been there done that! 

After we were done I dashed into the main building after overhearing there was a Costa. After eating a ham sarnie in record time, I put the lid back on my drink, and draped my bag across me so I had both hands free for walking stick and hot beverage. My instinct that Cambridge gentlemen would hold doors open proved correct and I got back to the car with 5 minutes to spare! 

Mum had been looking after Stella and said she'd been going to the door every 5 minutes since I left. I told her it would be after lunch when I got back but evidently she didn't hear me.

Speaking of whom, I put some looking well photos on the blog for Woof Wednesday today :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.