LadyPride

By LadyPride

Chairman's words..

Day 5 in the Poorly House. Try as I might I couldn't get myself into any state to work properly yesterday so it was another day just trying to get by doing what was urgent and necessary.

Had an important conference call with a new client (which I ended up having in a private room an Alderley restaurant on account of having zero signal at home, see pic of their fancy interior!)

The Chairman of our new client was on the call. He started it with a preamble as follows "Now sometimes when you start working with a new PR agency after the initial happy clappy pitch and signing up period, things start to fizzle out. It's all just a bit of a let down...." (at this point I could hear my own heart beating in my ears) "...so I checked in with the team to see if that was the case here and I am delighted to hear it's quite the opposite and if anything, we can't keep up with you!" Talk about feeling delighted! He didn't say much for the rest of the call but he didn't need to. Relieved doesn't even cover it as with holidays and illnesses, it has been a tricky work period of late and I thought we'd dropped the ball!

Angus and I had meant to attend a business event in Manchester in the evening but with me feeling under the weather, and Squidge seeming in need of her Mummy, we cancelled and headed home.

Angus's parents had brought us all a chilli so we tucked into that. His Mum was in a lovely mood and even offered to give me a shoulder massage as I have had a stiff neck for a week!

Squidge seemed happy I was back and stuck to me like glue, throwing wobblers if I spoke to anyone for too long and clinging to my legs as I walked round the house like a limpet. A sure sign she needs some Mummy time, something I intend to fix over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.