Baby, you're a firework!

Loved the fireworks display in Chorlton tonight. Took Squidge for her first experience and it went a bit like this.

{While we waited outside the Horse & Jockey for them to start}

"I go fireworks Mummy, I excited!"
"Where fireworks Mummy?"
(30 mins later)
"Where fireworks Mummy?"
(15 mins later)
"I don't want fireworks. Go home Mummy"

{fireworks display starts}
{bang}
{crash}
{bang} etc.

"Too loud Mummy"
"I no like it Mummy"
"Turn it off Mummy"

{more fireworks}

{Toddler silence, deafening}

And then finally...

"Pretty fireworks Mummy"
"I like them"
"Oooooooh big one"

And then when we got home...

"Daddy I saw fireworks today"
"In the sky Daddy"
"Big ones, pretty ones"
"Bangs"

I'd say that was a success. Picture taken is of our friends and their boys (also mixed in their feelings about fireworks - their expressions say it all!)

It was lovely seeing lots of people we knew. Got a lovely community feel from the event, this suburb rocks this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.