In a Fog

Dear Diary,

With our warm temperatures this week mornings have been a bit foggy.  This has heightened the aura of mystery in the woods.  It is very common here to have these foggy mornings in November and it is another thing I love about the month.

But there is one thing that I do not like about November here in Maine.  It is deer hunting season.  One would never walk in the woods or even near the edge of the woods without your flame orange jacket.  I have a quilted one I wear only in November.  I can hear the occasional gun shot in the distance and it, frankly, unnerves me.  Thankfully, Maine does not allow hunting on Sundays so at least one day a week there is peace.

I am not totally opposed to hunting.  My father hunted and many Mainers hunt to put food on their family's table.  But it is difficult for me anyway.  I have deer who visit my yard to eat the apple falls and I worry about them this month.  So I sort of hold my breath in November and cross my fingers that my friends will be safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.