Rusting Hills in North Conway

Dear Diary,

We are well into the "rusting" time here abouts.  This hill is in North Conway, New Hampshire where I went to do a bit of early Christmas shopping.  I know most people prefer the vivid reds and oranges of mid-October but I really enjoy this time of gentle surrender. Some of these trees are, no doubt, oak trees which hold onto their brown leaves for most of the winter.  The bears in these hills, and there are a lot of bears in these hills!, are heading to den now for their long winter nap. 

I got a bit more nap time last night since we turned back the clock an hour.  Now it will get dark at 5 pm but at least it is a light when I get up at 6am.  That's why we turn the clocks back, so the farmers would have extra morning light for chores.  I have a few more fall chores to complete this week to finish buttoning up the house for the winter to come.  More raking, wood stacking and putting up the snow stakes so the plow doesn't hit my stone walls.

Each season brings us special delights, like this rusting of the hills.  It is important that we pause and breathe in these subtle changes, they are so soon gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.