Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New Toy!

Right. Procrastination over. Macro lens bought!!

Actually, it ended up only costing me £19, in theory. I sold the lens my camera came with, as well as some old cameras and techie things. Getting £50 back from Canon (not arrive yet) and my £50 iTunes voucher from Leo's mum that I said I'd prefer in cash (not quite as bluntly as that, mind you). Result!

I've been out all morning with it. It's amazing. I need to practise with DoF etc, as I'm not getting it all in focus, so I took millions of shots. I was delirious when I got them uploaded to the computer. So exciting! I even got a bee/waspy thing! It must have been puggled, because it was resting and stayed still long enough for me to take a few shots. I think it will have to be my blip. I must say, the rain drops on petals and leaves are brilliant. Of course, walking anywhere now is impossible. I have to stop and not just look, but look closely at everything now.

I walked across the Meadows. I've never seen so many well dressed people. John, the Big Ish-ooo seller yelled good morning to me (as he always does since I took his photo) and 'Congratulations on passing your exams!' I was about to say that I hadn't, when I realised he was shouting at the two young men in kilts walking behind me. They were all heading for the graduation ceremony in McEwan Hall. He shouted this at everybody who passed him, so not sure of the hit rate.

I saw a kilted man ahead of me, bending down doing up his long laces. It would have made a nice blip. He had a very smart black kilt on with a tiny bit of colour in it. When I drew level with him and he stood up, I complimented him on his outfit. He was a Chinese Scot, or a Scottish Chinese. Or perhaps he was Chinese and just went to uni in Edinburgh. Or perhaps he was not Chinese at all, but another Asian race. Whatever, he looked smashing.

I was heading for the Travel Agent. Last night I checked the tickets, as per list. Stop Over in Dubai. Yes. Read fine print. 10 hours. 10 hours!! That's ridiculous. I seem to remember some discussion about it at the time, but we booked almost a year ago and so this was conveniently forgotten. JR, a Gold Emirates traveller, will have access to the Business Class Lounge. Perhaps if I go and cry, or make a scene, or even levitate, they'll let me in too...

Getting to the end of my list. Cleaned out the fridge yesterday. I found a jar of some unidentified gloop labelled 'Best before DEC 2005'. Can anyone beat that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.