Cigs

By Cigs

Elgin Terrace

New new new for the Fall '15 collection. (The fall as in the Americanism for autumn, not Mark E Smith's popularish beat combo)

I spotted this a couple of weeks ago; formerly the site of this one, it was painted out and as part of the Cigs / Urban Regeneration programme (sponsored in part by the European Union Social Fund as well as Greener Leith and local businesses - part of a drive to include cultural reference points to the shopping experience on Leith Walk and Easter Road) has now been reinstated. In red!

I believe it will be formally opened by a councillor (not Cammy Rose) next week, but here's a sneak preview for you ahead of the grand unveiling.

I happened to be passing this way; you will all no doubt know that Edinburgh is built on 7 hills. I cycled up 3 of them. This was at lunchtime as I searched for an open branch of the RBS to deposit a cheque I received as part payment for a copy of Cigs - The First 365 in hardback.
But my local branch has closed down; this was news to me as I turned up there - and it's gone! So I wracked my brain and came up with Blenheim Place, so sped off up there.

Later, I was dining with a sometime Cigs subject when I realised having cycled there that I'd not turned off the soup. Reluctantly I put down my wine, cycled back to salvage my leek and potato soup (the recipe is available to Pensioner in a bid to broaden his culinary skillz) before cycling back up Dundas St (the Alp D'Huez of my commute) for a third time that day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.