Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

LOOK CLOSELY

There's more than one vital spark in this picture.  

Having dropped the Australian at Central, we had coffee at Kelvingrove and wee daunder along the Kelvin (extra) making friends with the squirrels (extra).  This one is named Lister. 

It was lovely spending 36 hours with our lively Australian cousin and our local family.  It was like a sudden summer storm that leaves you warm and breathless. 

We also had some more sober moments.  Here's a bit I posted on Facebook this morning:

REMEMBRANCE

The Prof and I happened to be in Kelvingrove this morning and observed the two minutes silence there, along with visiting classes of school children. On the way the way in I spotted this memorial (extra) by the car park. I think I have missed it before because it was originally a horizontal plaque and has only recently been rebuilt. 


So I used my two minutes of silence to remember the brutal attack on the Palestinain village of Deir Yassin by terrorist forces, backed up by the Haganah - the semi official Israeli army of the time. At least 110 people were killed in the initial assault, many others executed afterwards, over 50 orphans abandoned while many of the women were paraded through the streets of Jerusalem and stoned. Of course it was not the only hideous event in that awful period, but it was iconic as when forces went on to attack other Palestinian village they would shout, 'Remember Deir Yassin!' spreading such terror and panic that villagers fled from their homes in advance of their attackers. 


I'm proud of Glasgow, one of the few cities in the world that has a memorial to the event.


Later I worked hard at updating a course handbook.  Funny how the old enthusiasm returns after an absence, tosses it's head and mutters, 'So you missed me, huh?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.