and through the wire...

By hesscat

On The Skids

The Abigail Gale has been over us all day, it is windy, it is rainy, but not sure it is worse than any other stormy day, it's just got a name this time which seems to make it a bit more important.

As I WFH today, I played a few old LPs including this one by The Skids, Days in Europa which took me back 36 years (eek). They were from my home town of Dunfermline, previously producing such megastars as Nazareth, Barbra Dickson and Andrew Carnegie. I remember when I was a lad, getting a white t-shirt, ripping some holes, scrawling stuff on it and putting safety pins on it (haha) before heading up to the Kinema Ballroom for what was probably my first gig!

Despite being grouped into the punk scene, I don't think they really were - I remember they asked people to stop spitting at them... eugh! Don't worry, I got home dry and safe.

As we were catching up with the 1st series of Arne Dahl (from a few years ago) in preparation to watch the current, the episode we watched tonight was Europa Blues which was clearly a signal I should blip this.

For a time today, I thought Blipfoto was on the Skids so it was good to see, first the out of service banner, then it come back into service. We may not hear much from Blipcentral, but it's reassuring someone is there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.