BBC Weatherwatchers

Today I heard about the BBC Weatherwatchers club. 

This allows the public to post the local weather conditions with a photo.  It seems to be an admission of what we all know - that is that its very difficult to get the weather forecast correct in detail for small areas of the country.  This is especially true of areas with micro-climates due to local geography.

The other places it could be of value are places like Glossop which sits in the corner of a  number of their regional forecasts and which ever one we look at there always seems a good chance its the wrong one.

I took this photo with the intention of posting it on BBC weatherwatchers but in the end I didn't - the weather changed so quickly to black clouds that I felt it was out of date before I got home to post it.  I understand that they would still have preferred that I had posted it but I'm not sure how useful that is when it has been and gone and the weather has changed so significantly. In addition to the photo the other part of the report is the details of temperature and windspeed etc.  the more the better of course.

So I didn't post this one on blipfoto on 4/11/15 either and am just catching up with this backblip today 17/11/15 - today's photo yet to be taken!

I think I will post some BBC Weatherwatchers photos in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.