OUR VISIT AT THE ARTIS ZOO

in Amsterdam. Luckily this photo exists otherwise I would not have known that we went there.
Of a later visit, when I was a bit older, I clearly remember the entrance and just behind it a long lane leading to the animals. At both sides of the lane there was a row of Parrots, amazingly coloured of course, they all sat on their own pool, could fly just a bit, if I remember well.
Of the other animals I have no recollection at all, not of the elephants, the long-necked giraffes or even the lions.
When I now see this photo what me mostly strikes is the expression of the St. Bernard Dog. In her eyes a strong awareness of the photographer.
Another fact that strikes me is the absence of fear in me, although I know that I always have been afraid of dogs, just untill we bought Moby, the bearded collie, for Mischa.
Then there is that cap I wear. A lovely red cap with embroideries my mother had done. I had a jacket of the same fabric, also lovely embroidered. I felt so happy to wear it.
But, at the Kindergarten, wearing it, I became a subject of ridicule. Standing at the playground, many children around me, pointing at my coat and yelling: roodkapje, roodkapje. Translation: Little Red Ridinghood.
We lived in a small village and perhaps every exuberance was banned there. I did not like the Kindergarten, Once I had to stay alone after class, because I had failed to fold a cup and saucer of paper.
I also remember resenting the obvious favourite of our teacher, she was the daughter of the sexton of our church and had the most amazing red cheeks.
Her surname was Hocks, a strange name we children thought and we made a rhyme upon her father: Hocksebil de klok staat stil.
After my little sister was born we moved to Leiden, where the second-hand bookshop of my parents already was.

My haiku:

Am I not afraid?
Perhaps I thought this was not
A dog at all

And the proverb:

If I do dog worry my uncle.

1847  Halliwell,  Dict.s.v.

A phrase implying refusal on being asked to do anything contrary to one's wishes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.