Working on the chain gang

This is Ian & Pete. I met them on my walk this morning. Pete is doing some re-kerbing at the bottom of the Dene & will be here for 3 days. Unfortunately the parked cars have stopped the gang from their work & so it may take longer.

Ian is Pete's supervisor & I have known Ian for almost 20 years as we both worked in the same industry. I had a moan at them because they are replacing kerb stones that don't need replacing and only part of the street. Also they are not putting in like for like materials which is a bit sad for a street that is almost 100 years old. I told them that the best spent money would be reconstruction of the footways - they are truly atrocious. 

I also saw Mr M or Bernard who was travelling on the footway at max speed on his mobility scooter heading straight at me on the way to church. He saw me at the last moment as my camera flash went off & steered around me..he jammed on the brakes & stopped for a chat. I also saw Ron on his way to the woods with his dog. He wanted to know what was going on with the works. When I told him he laughed and said that the footpaths need attention rather than the kerbs. Commuters will still drive on the footways - kerb or no kerb.

So today C's crafting buddies are coming for chats tea & cakes & crafting & I will make myself scarce by staying in the kitchen. Later 1 of the girls is staying a while longer & M her husband will join us for dinner as we haven't seen either for a few weeks.

Thank goodness there was nothing untoward at the France/England football match at Wembley last night. England managed a win over France  2-0.

I ordered C's Christmas present last night - an iPad mini. I hope she will use it. If not  then I certainly will.

Very mild day again with bursts of Autumn sunshine. Quite blowy but not as bad as last night when we were getting some serious gusts.

Happy Wednesday.

The extra is of Bernard speeding towards me at breakneck speed - bless him !

Song here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2XHYKWLGTg or the Pretenders here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK3uf5V0pDA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.