Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

King Edward 1 Monument

Nothing much to blip today. Home doing paperwork this morning then off out in the car for the afternoon with no time to stop and blip, its been all go!! My final stop of the day was not too far away in a little village near the King Edward 1 Monument on the Solway Plain.

I thought it would be good to blip something a bit different and Bonnie would enjoy the walk. But as we started to walk towards the monument I could see it was surrounded by cows. Me and cows do not mix since an incident a few years back. So we walked along another track for a short way where there were views in the distance of the monument.

If anybody is interested I got this from the internet - At the end of the River Eden, at the Solway Firth, is a grand stone monument, surrounded by a spiked iron fence, which marks the death-site of Edward I, the 'Hammer of the Scots'. Edward I initiated the Hundred Year War against France, and also acted as one of the prime architects of three hundred years of almost continuous warfare with Scotland.

He died on the edge of the Solway, on 7th July 1307, on his way north for a last assault on his enemy. The Latin inscription on the monument describes him as 'the greatest English king'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.