REFLECTION OF A BIKE

The day started Sunny, so I went, after filling the bird's feeder,  gladly performing a small task in the garden. When the weatherforecast pronounced rain and or snow in the afternoon, Piet Hein and I went for a walk immediately. No, not very far, just down the hill into town.
We visited one little shop, and then slowly went through the streets.
The restoration of the wall of the harbour will be soon finished now and we wonder when the water will be let in again.
Of course we walked along the promenade, saw the swan's pair eating grass at the other side of the river, the ducks had returned too (we have had no idea where they had gone for some weeks) and on the little bridge I saw the reflection of the bike, that leaned at the fence.
Ha, I thought, one day late!
Writing these sentences I sometimes cannot find the name of objects, like this fence. I mean I cannot remember the name of it, let alone to translate it in english. My dictionary is not of much help when I do not know the dutch word. I can ask Piet Hein for help, and if he cannot help, I struggle a bit further and most of the times there it is suddenly.
Where have you been hiding stupid word? In the far end of my brain I guess. I think this is not a fence at all, neither a balustrade or a rail.
At this moment I fetch my Duden Bildwörterbuch, a dictionary with pictures, with the most important pictures of life.
I easily find a picture of a park and there it is: Parkgitter.
Now I take my german-dutch dictionary, find the work Gitter and the translation in dutch is: hek, traliewerk.
I am almost there!! Back to my dutch-english dictionary and the word that I am looking for is: railing or fence.
When I am lazy I just skip the whole sentence and find another thing to tell.

My haiku:

I love my brain of
Course as you do too but why
It plays that game with me?

And the proverb:

If the brain sows not corn, it plants thistles.

1640  Herbert 364.

Meaning: If there be not good thoughts, there are bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.