B.A.C.K. to Basics

By AmyT

Manni-ana

She's the one that started it all... MeMe had given Kaylee this Manni after MeMe's heart surgery. She's been a part of our family ever since. So much so, that Kaylee was very excited to give Colby his first Manni when he was born.

Today, Manni-ana (Kaylees is clearly a girl bear), now sits in Kaylee's room more than she does in her arms. It's a bitter-sweet moment when you realize that your little girl is growing up and what once was a large part of her younger years, will no longer be important.

Kaylee was reading to me at bedtime and I looked over to see Manni-ana looking at me with those big, sad eyes - longing to be held, to be needed. I snuggled with her for a minute, then decided that she'd be my blip.

I think we'll always have a Manni in the house - even if their only purpose is to remind us of beloved childhood memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.