Plus ça change...

By SooB

Sunday lunch

Very slow day today. Not sure anyone was out of their PJs before noon. Katherine's foot needed re-dressed in a more competent way than was managed last night, then there was lunch, dinosaur top trumps, and a lot of lazing around in the garden. Though hot, it was overcast so I didn't feel so in danger of burning as I usually do. I snoozed my way through a Scottish history book (read a page, snooze for five minutes, wake with a start when a bird squawks or a fly lands on my nose, read a page, snooze for five minutes....)

At some point all the neighbourhood kids ended up in our kitchen like a bunch of ravening locusts hoovering up all the biscuits and cake. There must be some kind of kiddie super-sense that tells them when I've been baking. Anyway, I left them to it with the obvious consequence that neither of my kids ate much dinner. Hopefully that scene was repeated in other houses and the kids will no longer be allowed over to our's for snacks...

Time this evening for a quick tour of the garden and then giving everything - even the potatoes - a really good soak. We've been so close to having storms and downpours for days now that I don't think I can rely on the sky to do my work and, despite the cloud cover, watering seemed necessary. I'm a bit worried about the potatoes, and might dig one lot up tomorrow to check all is well. Must also remember to harvest our green beans - all ten of them... And, of course this delicious looking ruby chard - which had a good wash with the hose later to save me some time in the kitchen tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.