Day 1042 - Blur...

Haven't stopped all day.

The morning was full on at work.

Had an appointment with 'Orthotics' to get fitted for a knee brace. Thankfully it's not going to be as obtrusive as I thought but I haven't seen it in the flesh yet... It was an interesting appointment. Not sure what her job title is but, the Orthotics lady was very helpful and explained more than the consultant.

She said she could see when I walked into the room that my left knee is more out of alignment than my right one. She showed me the last X-Ray of my knee and explained that when you look head on to the knee, the gap on each side of the knee between your tibia and femur should be the same - mine isn't. So the meniscus and whatever else there is between the bones is getting crushed because there isn't enough space and could be what is causing the pain.

So, the brace will straighten my knee, open up the gap and should relieve some, if not all, of the pain over time. She too said that if it does relieve the pain then corrective surgery is an option. I still haven't asked what would be involved with that. One step at a time...

We discussed what may be causing this and she reckons that I am slightly knock kneed in both knees but that the initial fall 3 years ago probably knocked it further out of alignment and because of this, when I kneeled down a year ago and it locked, this was due to the misalignment. And when I got up and wrenched the knee back into place, the cartilage tore!

Perhaps getting somewhere? I won't get my hopes up...

It was then into town for the opticians and some shopping. Then food shopping. Then dinner and I promptly fell asleep in front of the TV! Well, I have been up since 5am!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.