Raining satay and batik in ja-ka-tah

Say the above in a Cambodian accent and you'll have no end of fun.

A Jakartan street just before the mother of all storms, during which I was on the back of a motorbike. The heavy duty waterproof didn't make any impact and I took it off to reveal a classic 'you've wet yourself' look.

Strange what makes some days good and others less so. Nothing remarkable about a donor meeting, dinner at KFC and having Hello by Adele on repeat as you work late. But it has ended on a high as I feel I've achieved a lot.

I did spend time with a great project partner - one of Indonesia's ex-most senior policewomen who speaks English with a Serbian accent as she was part of the Indonesian UN peacekeeping mission to the former Yugoslavia. Quite a character.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.