The Station Inn

Weatherise, it was a pretty miserable day, today. We spent most of the morning in our respective beds: me blogging, Abi playing on her iPad and Dan sleeping. Once up and showered, though, we decided we should go out. 

Dan and I have been discussing starting a blog about the quality of Sunday lunch in local pubs and restaurants but Abi took a dim view of this proposition and only agreed to go for a pub lunch if we agreed we wouldn't write about it. So, suitably chastened, we headed out to the Station Inn at Ribblehead. 

At the risk of breaking my word to Abi, I'll just say this is a lovely little pub in a splendid location, overlooking (from the men's loos at least) the Ribblehead viaduct. The food is average - pretty good/not bad - but the staff are glum and, whilst not unfriendly, hardly engaging. I don't suppose Dan and Abi noticed but I thought it was a shame.

Later on, Abi suggested we all go for a swim, which was just the kickstart I needed as going to Barcelona and a lot of travel recently has knocked me out of my exercise routine. I did a mile while the kids messed about and the time was not too bad, either, which was encouraging. 

Thus, by the time I'd dropped Dan and Abi off, and driven down to the Minx's, I was feeling pretty good and in just the right frame of mind to listen to myself on the radio. I thought it sounded all right, actually: welcome back, Electronic Ears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.