Xmas Shopping!

What a lovely day out with Friend! It was a jam packed day and I think we were both quite exhausted by the end of it! For me the day started with a chicken open and clean, then I dropped her at her counselling session. I popped in to see Gilesey, bought some ribbons and had a coffee then picked her up. An emotional start to the day for her - she was tearful when she got in the car but once we set off she was diverted by us trying to remember the 7 stages of grief! She excused herself as in her own profession as a mental health counsellor she doesn't deal with grief - she just has to deal with her own now. I shall say it here as the day did get jollier, but it was overshadowed by the fact that despite looking thin but otherwise fine, she is living on borrowed time. Totnes is a regular Xmas trip which we didn't get to do last year since she was in hospital, and none of us knew if she would even make this xmas. So I couldn't help but look at her and think how much I loved her and the thought that days like this needed to be cherished. It was a bittersweet day.
We had a lovely drive over the moors - it really is looking gorgeous in it's autumn colours with the sun shining. I resolved to come back that way another day to take photos! We stopped at Dartington for food at Cranks and a little shop at the smart shops in the complex. They are all rather rarefied and beautiful! I managed to buy a new waterproof at Tog24, the reason for going to Totnes was to buy a waterproof at a particular shop there, but no need! Plus it was half price!
We got to Totnes at about 3!!! So we had a mad dash up the High Street as the light faded. Whenever one has limited time everywhere and everything looked so inviting and I vowed to come back and do the clothes shops another day! Totnes is built up a hill and was lit by not only the bright lights of the shops and the wonderful arty displays, but also the xmas lights and the lights of the cars! I should say Totnes is a bohemian place, full of alternative practitioners and has a strong ethical stance, no big name stores are allowed in the town, no Mcdonalds, Starbucks etc etc!!!! - It is known as the "Alternative capital of England!" There was a man spouting verses from the bible outside the church whilst opposite a man with dreadlocks played a Didgeridoo!!!
We stopped at the end for a hot chocolate  ( mine had an espresso thrown in for good measure!) and slice of orange polenta cake. I then managed to catch this skateboarder falling! I had watched and heard them zooming down the hill so was delighted he fell right in front of me!!!! So really he had to be my blip although I could have happily blipped many others but something had to make my mind up for me!! I also cannot get over how good the Nikon is in low light!!! 
I must also mention the wonderful felt egg warmers I discovered here! I loved them all - but guess which animal I bought!! It's not shown in flickr but might well be tomorrows blip! ( Since I am back blipping on this blip!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.