Joe's Blips

By joesblips

The Ghosts of Christmas Present

Or, maybe that should be "of Christmas Presents".
On my way back from visiting my Dad today I stopped by in the city for a bite to eat. Christmas madness is in the air. People rushing about purchasing Christmas presents for one another. These were in Henry Street.
In the morning I stopped off with Arklow Camera Club Chairman Tom Gray to see a brilliant exhibition of Ernest Shackleton's Antarctic exploits. It is a lesser known fact that both Shackleton and his trusted fellow explorer Tom Crean were both Irish. This is the centenary of probably the greatest feat of human endurance ever. In the extras you will see a view of a small portion of the exhibition. Wonderful prints from Frank Hurley's original glass plate negatives, his meagre supply of film and even some cine footage.
As it's now well after 9.30pm and I am only just home, you may not be hearing from me until tomorrow. Sleep tight all !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.