EmmaBattrick

By MamaOfBoys

What a day

Andre left for Wellington this morning, he got up around 5am and his taxi arrived at 530am. 

I got up to say goodbye but didn't go back to bed, i figured i'd eat and do some housework before the little guys got up. 

The morning wasn't so bad, but because i was so organised all my housework was done before i left for Kanyes taxi and mar school. They were all fed, showered and dressed ready to go half an hour before  we had to leave the house.

I took Harper to the library to picked up some books and dvds for the kids this week to help keep them busy while dads not around. Across the road from the library they have this sound garden with road signs, extinguishers etc that they've turned into instruments for kids to play with. 

My sister in law picked Marley up from school for me, which i was very grateful for. 

The boys were pretty well behaved in the afternoon, Harper started asking for Dadda around the time he usually comes home. I think he'll miss him the most this week.

Boys had dinner, shower, pjs on and bed. Kanye was asleep by 730 Mar around 8 and Harper similar. I think the pouring rain and cool air from their window helped them sleep

This afternoon i had a bit of a run in Kanyes taxi driver, This year shes at times been difficult with the comments she makes and today was no different but i'd had enough.

She said or rather complained that Kanye was shouting in the van. there's two reasons he'll do this , when hes not coping or when he knows it winds people up. I have a feeling its the latter.

Anyway she complained about him and said under her breath hes always like this. I called my mum upset about what she'd said and mum told me she'd said the same to her last week, Andre then told me via message that she often says things about Kanye and he brushes it off.

I was furious. I called the taxi company manager and left a message, this isn't good enough. i understand she was giving feedback but the way in which she does, the tone and the words she uses are demeaning and extremely negative. Its complaining to me.

The other thing is she could say it to me directly, not out loud in front of him and the other students in the van, that's demeaning and not good enough at all.

She texted asking how to stop him shouting in the van. i didn't reply. Hes only in the taxi for 10 minutes. Its hurtful/stressful and upsetting for me to hear this about him all the time. 

I have no control over him in the van so i'm not sure what i'm meant to do, hes an intellectually disabled child who is only partially verbal so how is he meant to express himself?

Anyways, i contacted Kanyes teacher who said shes noticed too things the driver has said about Kanye. She was going to talk to the driver, try and help her understand that this is who Kanye is. I feel shes not very understanding or compassionate about this or about the kids in general who have special needs.

I felt emotionally drained in the evening after the boys had gone to bed. I ran through my head what happened. I think i've done the right thing. I let her know how i felt, i have left a message for the manager of the taxi vans for special needs kids, i've spoken with Kanyes teacher. I'll leave it now. I've said my peace and hopefully she'll understand.

Finally had a chance to talk to Andre later in eh evening, hes had an alright day. He says the course is good and finishes early Friday so hopefully can change his flight home. He has afternoon tea and morning tea provided and gets a food voucher from them which is on top of the food allowance his work gives him. 

This is the first time hes been away this long from me and from all 3 boys, last time was a weekend before Harper arrived.

Thank goodness for my coffee machine hey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.