Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

The trial run

Moving up from primary to secondary school is made as easy and worry free as possible for both pupils and parents these days.

Here we have Miss C waiting for the high school bus along with her "old hand" brother to take her to day 1 of 2 days of a high school transition experience.
She had a fabulous time and came home excited about her new class, friends and teacher.
It was my turn in the evening. After sitting through a relatively impressive Beginners Band performance ( as an old hand mum, I too can value the promise of better things to come in a Beginner Band ) I was ushered into the school library to be reassured several times that I had made a good choice of school for my child. The staff promised to look after my child and I shouldn't worry. I wasn't, until I heard that I shouldn't!
As an old hand, I realised that the education system reaches down to the lowest common parental experience - fear and worry , instead of aiming high to inspiration and excitement. My first child has been at the same school for 2 years, although in an accelerated stream. He is truly exited and inspired, so I have high hopes that when the parents leave reassured, with their worries assuaged, the real work will begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.