.............plus ca change.............

36 and a bit years ago one of my first tasks as a teacher was to man the behaviour centre.

I turned up to the appropriate room and found myself faced with four desks divided by a cross of plywood panels as in the left of the photo.................at each desk sat a "naughty boy" who had been offensive, obnoxious or defiant..........and subsequently removed from lessons...........my job was to sit with them while they worked in silence.

Today I was asked to man the inclusion unit...........I turned up to be faced with four desks in a row divided by partitions.......as on the right of the photo..........within five minutes two naughty boys arrived having been removed from lessons because of inappropriate behaviour.

The wheel has come full circle.

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.