The Christmas jumper

Last year, the Minx and I took a trip up to Oban to watch the band Washington Irving play a yuletide gig in their hometown. On our first day there we were walking 'round the town, through which a rather bitter wind was blowing. It seemed rather serendipitous when we walked past a knitwear shop, so we popped in and bought jumpers.

This is my one, which - courtesy of the band James - has a rather Manchester feel to it. However, it has become my Christmas jumper, despite lacking any obviously Christmassy motif. I guess it's just the colour. Certainly each time I've pulled it on this autumn, it's seemed a bit wrong: too soon, I've thought, it's not Crism yet. Now that we're safely into December, though, I've been wearing it whenever I can. Putting it on feels like pulling on a hug!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.