Funchal Christmas.

The concert last night was wonderful and today is my last day.

The glorious weather has given way to cloud and storms (will we be able to fly?) and I spent a fabulous morning in the centre of Funchal.

The stalls are out (selling tourist tat but more importantly, Poncha, Madeira wines and cake, and bulbs). The dancers, clearly a family troupe, perform with such gusto. A proud island, with magical and respectful traditions.

I chose to go into the cathedral rather than the English Church with my friends. I nipped in at the back and shortly afterwards gave up my place to an elderly lady. She and her friends insisted on squashing up so I could join them. When it was time to shake hands and say hello, they were fabulous. I hadn't a clue about the service, apart from guesswork. But it was so moving.

Madeira is so easy to love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.