Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Teal

Took my camera out today but failed to stay upright. Tripped over a rock and smashed my lens hood and part of my face. I now have a massive bottom lip, a bruise under my jaw and a cut under my nose. Thankfully, my camera seems largely unharmed. 
I haven't decided whether to cancel my night out or whether to brave it and let everyone see my new Christmas face. Before anyone asks - No, I haven't been drinking nor do I intend to. The inside of my mouth is a bit sore but I am sure it will heal fairly quickly. 
I think my trip was due to a lack of concentration. I was thinking about the person I met yesterday who was walking around with a young Harris hawk tethered to his arm and I found his conversation and attitude a little upsetting. The bird isn't native and it deserves to be free in its own habitat. (Harris hawks are social birds and hunt in packs.)
Also, our native birds shouldn't be terrorised by it. I took a photo of the hawk but I am not sure that I want to blip it. The older I get the more inclined I feel towards becoming an animal rights activist!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.