Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Tales of the unexpected

Hello :-)
And welcome to my 200th blip. I never expected to reach this milestone. Granted that for the last week or two I have been guilty of semi-gratuitous blipping purely to ensure that blip 200 landed on 15th December 2015.
But in fairness, part of my recent blipping-frenzy has been to use the window of COP21 to illustrate an organic/homegrown lifestyle, and part of it has been selfishly wishing to connect with wonderful warm wise women at a time when I have felt bruised and abused by horrible multi-nationals.
The tale;
After Spouseman and I got married we followed tradition by celebrating the anniversary of our wedding; sometimes with an evening out at a pleasant restaurant, some other times with a picnic on a beach. Prior to our wedding we did not celebrate the anniversary of the start of our relationship, but we did acknowledge it once every 100 months.
Our relationship has not been a fairy-tale. It has not been a walk in the park. There have been several occasions and several reasons why we never expected to reach today's milestone. Comparatively recently the smart money would have betted against this, but here we are, surprising everyone, not least ourselves. Tonight we celebrate 300 months together.
I won't say that we are walking in step, but I will say that we are keeping one another company whilst heading in approximately the same direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.