Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sydney Opera House family connection!

We had a rather dramatic incident last night. G almost choked. I had to thump her back and do my version of the Heimlich Manoeuvre. It was very very frightening. We were all very shaken, and in fact, I didn't sleep a wink.

But we had such a wonderful day today! It began with lying in bed watching the parakeets feeding on the gum tree right outside the bedroom window! How special is that!

Then we took G's dog, Rufus for a walk. He's not as obliging as Henry. He kept stopping at EVERY smell. Had a coffee at the BEST cafe ever! But with Rufus we had to sit outside because he barked and howled when we were in choosing what nibble to have with the coffee (a slice of toasted banana bread)..

We took the ferry to Cockatoo Island Biennale. We had such a great time there. It's an old penal colony/ wartime navy base with dozens of old warehouses, rusty machinery, cranes, wheels and pumps. All you blippers would have loved it! I'll have to put some of my many many photos on Flickr. Apart from the buildings and old machinery, the art installations were all incredible.

We then took the ferry into the city. We got pensioner's tickets and saved heaps! Didn't ask if it was only for Aussie pensioners, but they did rob me of £25 to come into the country, which still annoys me.

This is always an epic journey. Thought I should blip a classic Sydney shot. Can you see the mad buggers people on the top? But mainly because I have an excuse to tell the world about a family connection to the Opera House!! It's fairly tenuous, but it'll do. You'd better sit down first...

My auntie's (Uncle A's sister) husband's brother's second wife's father (keep up) was a civil engineer in Sydney, and he identified the bit of land to build the Opera House!! What a claim to fame!

I can hear you all gasping in wonder and amazement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.