Old Movies

Dear Diary,

I am in an old movie mode lately.  Last night it was the 1934 movie The Thin Man with William Powell and Myrna Loy.  By contemporary standards the acting style may seem quite corny but it really is a classic of early film and I love the wonderful repartee between Powell and Loy.  Over the next week I'll watch the old Christmas classics, It's a Wonderful Life and White Christmas.  It is a holiday tradition with me.  I never tire of slipping back into a time where things seemed so much simpler.

My very favorite actress of all time is Audrey Hepburn (extra photo) and I have several of her films. Thursday night I watched her first movie in 1953, Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck.  Imagine a two hour movie with no color, no computer special effects, no sex or violence and no bad language!  It was so refreshing and I didn't miss them a bit.

I was a photography and film making major in college and I have a special attraction to classic film.  I will need to upgrade them to DVD.  When I started collecting them VHS was "state of the art"!    While I was at Mary's last week we watched the Alfred Hitchcock masterpiece North by Northwest.  That probably set me off.  Anyway, there will be lots of bowls of popcorn in my future I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.