Winter Light

A fine day to get a bit of Christmas shopping done. I thought it might be quieter than at the weekend - if so, the weekend must have been unbearable. I headed up the old town and took one of those iconic views as the winter sunlight invited it. Aye, this one. After a dip into Coco (you're all getting chocolate) up at Bruntsfield I headed homeward.
That was before heading out to meet up with the son at the Barony. He was only fifty minutes late. That's good for him, of course, and it gave me time to read the paper. And then the daughter dropped in after locking up next door at 7pm. What lovely children I do have, I do think. I remember a line in Sideways where Paul Giamatti sits at a bar and says about his children how one day you realise they've grown up (and there was a pause when I thought he was going to say, into perfect strangers) and he actually said, into the most wonderful people. So true. I had to treat the son to a burger from Burger Meets Bun and we sat and chatted away about absolutely everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.