Farewell Cambridge

Today it was my turn to leave Cambridge and head for home. My NZ daughter and I went into the town to to have a bit of quiet time together in a cafe - something that is hard to do at home when 3 children are present.As it was a lovely day we sat outside the cafe and watched the world go by.

 A piano was positioned outside the cafe with an invitation for anyone who wants to play  on it. Much to our delight, a pair of young lads stopped and one of them sat down to play. He was a seriously talented pianist and lost himself in the music while we sat and listened.

After about 15 minutes the lad stopped and sheepishly looked around. The piano was not there for busking and so all we could do to show our appreciation was to stand and clap.

This is the last trip I will make to the pretty town of Cambridge. In three weeks, my daughter and her family move to Napier on the east coast of the North Island so I will be traveling there to visit them in future.

I am home now and have two days before the German branch of the family join me here for the next two weeks. A brother-in-law has just arrived from Germany to join them and  in a week my son arrives from Australia to catch up with his sister. The house will be full again.

What a wonderful Christmas I am having this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.