wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Catching up

I made vases to hang on the tree for fresh roses many years ago. Sometimes I filled them with daisies or white mums.
I have stared at the tree like a child attracted by the lights and shiny ornaments.
Every year is different. I place ornaments in different places as if to give them a "turn" to impress us and impress us they do.
Covered in glitter and sequins and sparkly stuff they reflect the lights shining near them. Some reflect Christmases past. They hung on the tree of a woman I never met, my grandmother. My mother's mother died well before I was born. When I hold an ornament that she had held I close my eyes as if to draw her near.
Some remind me of my childhood. Ones I made as a child, or ones that were bought at Kings department store. There were so many shiny ornaments in those days. Probably not as many as now but it seems like a million to a small child.
I hang the unbreakables near the bottom. Tony TigerBear has not touched one ornament this year. He does love his Christmas ball that I hung in his house. I think tomorrow I will tell his side of the story however for tonight I reminisce and share more thoughts stay tuned......
Good night to the north and G'day down under.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.